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Help & Strategies
Review Yahoo! Search Marketing Help & Strategies Congratulations! You and Monetize It! have unearthed some fantastic opportunities at AdWords. Now you are ready to begin advertising. Roll up your sleeves and let's get rolling! The basics of Google AdWords are easy to master. AdWords also offers great flexibility, which means that it can become as complex as you care to make it. We'll try to K-I-S-S here and outline the best 80-20 practices. If you are an AdWords novice, the process may sound confusing at times. That's why your absolute best strategy is to create a single campaign with a single Ad group. Experiment with it. Then when you feel confident, branch out.
Let's begin by quickly reviewing the "fundamentals" of Google AdWords... Success Begins With Knowledge Monetize It! does the heavy lifting for you by identifying the most lucrative advertising opportunities at both Yahoo! and Google. But for true success, two key elements come into play. You must know your Return On Investment (ROI) and your Maximum Bid. Of course, one affects the other! 1) Know Your ROI Initially, you will use your site's Conversion Rate (CR) as an ROI benchmark (i.e., how well you are able to generate income from your free SE traffic). This data will give you a general idea as to how well your Advertising Campaign should do. Campaign CRs can vary substantially from your site's CR, depending on the keywords you target, and how the Titles and Descriptions of your Ads are written. Obviously, if your Paid Campaigns are not converting visitors at the same rate as your site is doing with its free traffic, there is definitely room for improvement! Bottom line? Reduce the chances of taking a loss by knowing your ROI. (For a quick refresher on how to determine your ROI, please click here.) 2) Determine Your Maximum Bid Very few small businesses have deep pockets. Set aside a certain amount of your operating budget for Paid Campaigns. Once you've determined your max bid for a keyword, stick with it. Do not raise your bid to the level of your competitors if you cannot afford to do so. The name of this game is to put money back in your pocket. Keep in mind that PPC Campaigns may not be right for your business, or at least, not at this stage of its development. However, if your research has found plenty of "nickel bargains" at Google, you may wish to venture a small experiment of $50, and see if it pays off. On the other hand, if your ROI is low (or you do not yet have enough data to determine it), and you do not turn up any nickel bargains in the course of your research, don't bother with any experimentation. Create more high-quality content for now.
Here is your best strategy for maximum return on your Advertising Campaign...
A higher CTR (Click Through Rate) and more targeted Ads lead to a less expensive CPC for you. It's all about getting the RIGHT message to the RIGHT sub-market to the RIGHT location... it makes a huge difference to your Return on Investment (ROI). It really doesn't matter whether you're a "high-ROI" player (i.e., a business person to whom the value of a new customer is very high, and who can therefore afford to pay a much higher CPC), or you merely want to scoop up low-cost, well-performing bargains... There are no short cuts! Skimp here and you will pay more for your keywords than necessary. After all, if your nickel keywords end up costing you a dime due to poor performances, they are no longer true bargains, are they? Keyword Division For Campaigns and AdGroups No matter how you group your keywords in MI!, they must be imported into Google as sets of keywords that can be tied logically to an AdGroup and its associated Title and Description.
Suppose, for example, the owner of anguilla-beaches.com decides to use Monetize It! to build a low-cost PPC Campaign to identify nickel bargains and drive cheap, targeted traffic to her site. Let's say she finds 10 bargains... 5 of those are related to the keyword "Anguilla Villas," and 5 are related to "Anguilla Boat Rentals." Her next move would be to export these keywords separately, and import them into their own individual AdGroups. That way, the "Anguilla Villas" keywords would be associated with an Ad that focuses on "Anguilla Villas," and "Anguilla Boat Rentals" keywords would be associated with its own Ad. This division would lead to a high Quality Score and lower CPC. Here's how it would break down... Campaign name: Anguilla Leisure
AdGroup #1: Anguilla Villas
AdGroup #2: Anguilla Boat Rentals
Exporting Data From MI! To Google The process is identical for whatever kind of Campaign you are creating. For this demonstration, we will use two groups of $0.05 keywords. Ready? Let's go! Step 1: Create a New Adwords Campaign i) Open a new browser window, and log into your Google account... https://adwords.google.com/select/Login
ii) On the following page, name your Campaign with a descriptive Title that captures the essence of its AdGroups.
Now, name the first AdGroup to be associated with this Campaign.
iv) Target your customers by location. Choose whatever option makes the most sense for your business. For those of you with an online presence, "Global" or "National" is probably the best option. As usual, however, make the choice that is most suitable for your business.
v) Click "Continue." On the next page, you'll be able to choose countries where you wish to advertise. Again, choose whatever is most applicable to your business. If you sell goods or provide a service, do not choose countries where you are unable to ship. For most businesses, Canada, the U.S., the U.K., and Australia are probably the best choices. (Unfortunately, click fraud is likely to rise when you advertise outside of these countries.)
Click "Continue."
Step 2: Set Up Your First Ad Think IMPACT. When you create an Ad, it's all about the headline and body copy. Don't be trite, boring, typical. People will scan quickly past these Ads. Do searches on the keywords that you are targeting. Read the Ads. Then create one that stands out... really stands out. If you find yourself saying "good enough" when creating an Ad, it's not. Push it to be better, brighter, sharper. It's a challenge to get creative within the parameters that Google provides for their Ads. Your title is limited to 25 characters, and each of your two lines of text is limited to 35 characters. You don't have much space to convey your message so you have to make it snap! Always make sure that you provide the #1 benefit for the Ad's target group. As you create your Ad in the text boxes...
Of course, your description should contain one or more of your most important keywords, or a variation, as well. Pay special attention to the display and destination URLs...
The display URL should "point" to the root domain of your site.
The destination URL should link to the most relevant page of that site.
It's also a very good idea to replace the destination URL with a tracking URL. You can use SBI!'s own Tracker Library to set up unique tracking links for each AdGroup. Google offers several tracking options too, allowing you to track leads, sales, or simply visits to an individual page. You can learn about Google's various tracking options here... http://www.google.com/adwords/learningcenter/
Once your Ad is created (take your time!), click "Continue"...
Step 3: Import Your Selected Keywords into AdWords Do you remember how "Anguilla Boat Rentals" was a nickel bargain? Here's what comes next... i)Minimize the Google Adwords screen. ii) Return to Monetize It!. iii) Select the Google nickel bargain keywords related to the "Anguilla Boat Rentals". (See the PPC-Buying Help if you need help using MI!, or selecting keywords for export.) iv) Export the keywords to the desktop (remember to check "Export Keywords Only"). v) Open the CSV file in your Word Processor. vi) Select all the keywords. vii) Copy all the keywords. viii) Paste those keywords directly into the field on the Google Adwords page as shown below...
You'll notice all your keywords are exported from Monetize It! in quotes. This is important. The way you enter your keywords into AdWords (i.e., the syntax you use) affects the way the keywords are displayed according to searches. We export all keywords in quotations by default (called "phrase matching") because for most businesses, it provides the most benefit (i.e., the greatest combination of search volume and targeted searches). Because phrase matching is not always the best for every keyword and every business, let's talk about Google's four keyword options...
Option #1) Because your Ad will be untargeted for the majority of searches, it's unlikely you'll be able to sustain a decent CTR. So you'll need to bid a higher CPC to raise your Ad Rank. Even if you did, you would only succeed in obtaining lots of expensive, untargeted visitors that would not convert. Broad matches are also subject to "expanded matching", which is much like Yahoo!'s service, displaying your keywords for searches that are "close enough" to your selected keywords. While this may drive more traffic and could prove to be beneficial, it may also negatively effect the ROI of your Campaign. Bottom line? Broad matching is really only a viable option for very specific single word keywords, and works well for fairly esoteric multiple keyword phrases. Otherwise, avoid this option.
Option #2) Suppose you import a word in quotations -- i.e., "baseball cards". Now your Ad will display when the term "baseball cards" is typed into Google's search box, and also when other words are added before and after the term. So "baseball cards" will also display your Ad for "buy baseball cards online", "collectible baseball cards", "sell baseball cards Yankees", and any other combination of keywords that contains the phrase "baseball cards" in that order. Now your targeting becomes more effective, and maintaining a decent CTR becomes easier, which means that you can afford to bid a lower CPC. Conclusion? Much better. Phrase matching delivers a nice combination of semi-targeted visitors and high search volume.
Option #3) Exact matching delivers highly relevant results at the expense of traffic volume. Because keywords entered in square brackets result in a much more targeted audience, it's easier to elevate your CTR, and therefore pay less money for a top position. For that reason, exact matching is best used as a cost saver in a highly competitive and expensive market.
Option #4) "anguilla villas" -cheap This will show her Ad for all keyword phrases that include the search term "anguilla villas" but do not include the word "cheap" (i.e., a search for "cheap anguilla villas" would not display her Ad). If you want to change the default "phrase match" option for any keyword you import into AdWords, simply make the appropriate changes (i.e., remove quotes, add square brackets, etc.) in the keyword box before proceeding. In the example below, I've changed the keyword, "Anguilla boat charters" from phrase match to exact match by removing the quotations and replacing them with square brackets...
That's all there is to it!
Click "Continue."
Step 4: Set Your Maximum Cost Per Click (CPC) On this page, Google will make a recommendation for your maximum CPC, as well as determine what sort of budget you will require to maintain such a CPC, and the number of clicks you will receive in a day. Ignore Google's recommendation and enter your own maximum CPC...
If you look carefully, you'll see the option to create another AdGroup directly below where you enter your max CPC...
If you select this option, you will create a completely new Ad group of associated keywords that will be grouped under the Campaign you are currently managing. Remember this graphic?...
This Campaign is called "Anguilla Leisure," and the first AdGroup is "Anguilla Boat Rentals." If you wish, you could now create the other AdGroup for the nickel bargains available for the "Anguilla Villas" theme. This would comprise the second of an unlimited number of AdGroups you could create for this Campaign. If you do not have another AdGroup ready to go yet, don't worry about it -- you can add new AdGroups at any time.
When you are finished creating Ads for this Campaign, click "Continue"...
Step 5: Set Your Daily Budget: On this page, Google will make a recommendation for your daily budget, based on keyword demand and your selected target options. You do not want Google to set your daily budget. Instead, enter your own daily budget into the field shown...
Step 6: Review and Save
Double check that all parameters of this Campaign and this initial
AdGroup are OK. If so, click Save and Continue.
Success! You have just created your first Campaign and AdGroup in AdWords! Your listings should already be live! If you return to the Campaign Summary page, you'll see your new Campaign listed there...
Where do you go from here? Good question... 1) Create new AdGroups for the Campaign you just created. Here's how... From the Campaign Summary page, select the appropriate Campaign...
On the following page, click "Create New AdGroup"...
... and on the next page, name your new AdGroup, and then follow along
with the process outlined above, starting at Step #2.
2) Create as many new Campaigns and associated AdGroups as needed. The process is simple. On the Campaign Summary page, click the "Create New AdWords Campaign" link...
... and follow the process outlined above.
AdWords Strategies For Monetize It!
Although there are numerous ways to use Monetize It! for PPC-Buying,
the basics of how you import your keywords and set up your relevant
Campaigns and AdGroups remain constant. Here's an overview of three strategies...
Strategy #1) Google Bargains The above demonstration covers this type of PPC Campaign, so I won't delve into the process too much here...
Easy as pie! If you need more information on the mechanics of isolating Google bargains,
see the PPC-Buying
section of these Help pages.
Strategy #2) "Buy Low", "Sell High" The PPC-Buying Help illustrates how to use Monetize It! to identify low cost keywords that you can use to direct visitors to pages where you display high priced Ads (either delivered by AdSense, Yahoo!'s out-of-beta competitive service, or your own sourced advertising). You may find those low cost keywords at either Yahoo! or Google. In other words, you may find words you can buy cheaply at Yahoo! that you send to pages where you display high-priced Adsense Ads (in that case, you'd set up your "buy low" sell high" Campaign in Yahoo!, not in AdWords). Or, you may find low-cost words you can buy at AdWords and send to pages where you display high-priced Yahoo! Ads. The mechanics of such a Campaign are not tricky, you'll find that the only real difference in the process involves the grouping and exporting of keywords from MI!. Suppose, for instance, that you find a dozen "buy low", "sell high" keywords. Chances are that only a few, if any, of these keywords will be related in theme. As you remember, you need to group keywords according to theme when using Google AdWords so you may need to export these keywords in very small groups. Follow this process when setting up your new "buy low", "sell high" AdWords Campaign...
And that's it. Pretty simple, right?
Strategy #3) Typical PPC Advertising Campaign Using Google's AdWords for a typical Advertising Campaign, especially if your ROI is high and your keywords vary greatly in cost, is the most complex procedure of all. The good news is that it's not really difficult. It just requires an additional step. As usual, group your keywords by theme, topic, or whatever other criteria you determine to be critical for your business. Now for the extra step -- group your keywords by bid cost. I mentioned this briefly earlier, so let me expand upon it now... When you set your maximum bid amount, it applies to all the keywords within an AdGroup. What this does is effectively apply higher bids to keywords
with much lower bids. For example, if you mix $0.05 keywords with keywords
that cost $0.50, your minimum bid for that AdGroup will need to be
at least $0.50 to ensure your Ad appears for the most expensive keywords.
Unfortunately, that means your $0.50 maximum will also be applied
to $0.05 words. In some cases, this could force you to pay more than
you need to for these keyword bargains. It may also inadvertently
have you paying a higher CPC for keywords that have a low Quality Score.
The solution? If you have keywords covering a wide CPC range, you'll need to split them up according to bid cost -- yes, in addition to splitting keywords up by theme, topic, referred URL or what have you. For instance... Suppose you determined that your maximum CPC was $0.50. Using Monetize It!, you find 50 "Anguilla Villas" themed keywords, all varying in cost from $0.05 to 0.50. Instead of dumping all of these keywords into one AdGroup, where they would ALL be subject to a CPC of $0.50, you would be better off grouping them according to cost...
... and placing each one into its own AdGroup, with an independently set max bid reflective of the keywords within that group. The Ads themselves (i.e., the Titles and Descriptions) could be identical. It would only be the CPC (and the AdGroup's Name, of course) that would vary from AdGroup to AdGroup. Name each AdGroup accordingly. Something like...
... would be fine. What if you find this extra step to be too much trouble? Yes, it is entirely possible for you to drop all your keywords into one AdGroup, but it will end up costing you more money and reducing your control over the Campaign and your CPCs. This is important so it's worth repeating a few times... Google will charge you more money to display your Ads for keywords that perform less than optimally. If those keywords belong to an AdGroup which has a CPC significantly higher than what you'd prefer to pay for them, Google will automatically charge you the higher amount.
The ideal scenario is not to pay a higher CPC to display Ads
for keywords that don't perform well. Instead, associate these keywords
with their own AdGroup(s), and work to create listings that lead to more
click-throughs from a targeted audience.
A Few Final Words If you're feeling a little intimidated by Google's AdWords program, don't worry. It's a typical reaction. The best way to overcome this feeling is to roll up your sleeves, follow the process outlined here, and set up your first Campaign. As you become a little more familiar with the program, the mystery and mystique unravel, leaving you with an extremely flexible and powerful advertising medium. The combination of Monetize It! and AdWords will expand your business far beyond your wildest expectations!
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